Missouri Insurance Requirements
In Missouri, drivers are required to have liability insurance with coverage limits of:
- $25,000 in liability coverage for bodily injury per person in a single accident
- $50,000 in total liability bodily injury coverage in a single accident
- $10,000 in liability coverage for property damage per accident
- Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person or $50,000 total per accident
State Laws Regarding Personal Injury Claims
Here are some Missouri state laws addressing liability in personal injury claims:
Statute of Limitations
According to Missouri Revised Statutes Section 516.120, any legal action seeking a remedy for a personal injury must be commenced within five years of discovering the injury.
Missouri operates under a "pure comparative fault" system. Under this principle, your involvement in a car accident doesn't bar you from collecting damages, but the amount of compensation you can recover will be reduced by your percentage of fault.
For instance, assume that the jury awards a total compensation amount of $60,000 for injuries and damage, but you are found to have been 30% at fault for the accident. Your compensation amount will be reduced by $18,000, and you will only be able to collect $42,000. Under Missouri's pure comparative fault system, plaintiffs may still recover damages even if they were up to 99% at fault for their accident.
Filing a Wrongful Death Claim
Wrongful death can be described as an avoidable death caused by the negligent or wrongful actions of another party. According to Missouri Revised Statutes Section 537.080, a wrongful death claim may be filed against a person or entity whose negligent or intentional actions results in another person's demise. By filing a wrongful death claim, the plaintiff can hold the responsible party accountable for a preventable accident that results in a loss of life.
Who Can File a Wrongful Death Claim?
The following people may file a wrongful death claim in Missouri:
- First in line, the decedent's surviving spouse, parents, children, or children's descendants
- Next, the decedent's surviving siblings or their descendants
- Next, a "plaintiff ad litem" appointed by the Missouri court to handle the claim
Under Missouri Revised Statutes Section 537.100, a wrongful death action must be brought within three years of the date of the death.
Work with An Experienced Attorney
Whether you suffered minor or major injuries from a traffic collision, such an accident can affect your physical, emotional, and financial well-being. Thankfully, you don't have to face these challenges on your own. If you were involved in a car accident, hiring an experienced personal injury attorney is paramount to protect your rights.
At Jett Legal, our team is dedicated to offering comprehensive legal guidance and compassionate representation to car accident victims and their loved ones. As your legal counsel, we can:
- Review every detail of your case and carry out an in-depth, private investigation
- Obtain relevant information, evidence, and documentation
- Work to prove fault and establish liability
- Determine the full extent of your injuries and estimate case-value
- Handle all communication and negotiate with insurers
- File a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit, if necessary
We will work to hold the responsible parties accountable. We will continue fighting to protect your rights and represent your best interests throughout the process of your car accident claim.